The Unwilted and Pure, or not.

I’ve officially made it past a first date, it’s been a while since that’s happened. Things have been going smoothly, we talk daily and I’m still amused.

However, there was an issue that was brought up the other day that had me thinking.  This guy’s a bit of a jokster – of course because I wouldn’t settle for anything less – so during one of our daily chats he decided it would be a good time to confess something.

“G, there’s one thing you should know about me that i failed to mention.”  (what’s that?)

(really?)
“yes, I am” (okay)
“Does that matter?”

Does it matter…. I didn’t respond as I was kind of baffled by the idea that someone I knew might actually be a virgin. Well, I shouldn’t say that because I do know someone who’s currently a virgin but she doesn’t make it a big ‘thing’ like some might. I knew that the next things out of my mouth had to be thought out… because my initial reaction was to ask “Why?” I liked this guy – or like rather because we’re still talking – so I didn’t want to offend him. Up until this point I’ve done a good job of not offending him, which is a feat in itself.

Immediately I did what any girl would do… I went to a friend. I figured if I got all of the things that I wanted to say out-of-the-way then I could approach my conversation with him in a positive manner.

But before I could respond to his last question he followed up with “I’m just kidding.” I’m sorry, what? I literally went on a rant about whether or not I’d actually be able to be with someone who was a virgin and you come out with “I’m kidding”. Just when I was going to commend him on being a male in his late twenties and still a virgin… nice.

The whole rest of the day I kind of felt like an asshole because for a brief moment I thought there was no way that I’d be able to have a romantic relationship with someone who wasn’t as ‘experienced’ as I was, right – I sound like an asshole. But in reality, I think it’s a great thing that there are people who  maintain their chastity. There’s nothing wrong with that… even if for a brief moment I thought I wouldn’t be able to do it. You know why? Because if you care about someone enough, you’d stick by them… right?!

Thoughts?

