Life is an Ongoing Lesson

Cheesecake with a sour cream icing, strawberries and blueberries.

Cheesecake with a sour cream icing, strawberries and blueberries.

I used to think that it wouldn’t be half bad to be a life long student, I had a cousin who spent a good chunk of his adult life in college. He’s relatively well-rounded and he’s obviously learned a lot during that time. (I should clarify that while he did spend more than the average amount of time in college, it wasn’t so much that he did poorly, but more that there was so much that he wanted to learn.)

That’s not to say that I gave up on cooking, obviously if you’ve followed along you’d have seen the food posts I make from time to time. Sadly I don’t have as much free time as I once did and am unable to cook everything that I want! So here I am, learning to cook things on my own, with the help of cookbooks, the internet and family/friends. It’s amazing how much there is to learn, and all the while figuring out what I’m good at and when I can admit that the grocery store (or restaurant) can probably do it way better. But I’ll continue to practice and feed those around me willing enough to eat it. So far I haven’t had too many complaints, unless of course they’re just being nice and don’t want to hurt my feelings. Which reminds me, I have to start planning some snacks because there are some birthdays coming up soon and I owe some people edible gifts.

Steak dinner; with mushroom medley, asparagus and buttered polenta.

Steak dinner; with mushroom medley, asparagus and buttered polenta.

What is the one thing you wish you knew how to do? Or something that you’ve been meaning to learn but maybe just haven’t had the time? What are you waiting for, get on it and start learning something. Me… I’ll have to go through the massive list of foods that I want to make and start actually doing it. I’ll post recipes from time to time and progress reports. Something new for 2014 perhaps! Fatten up the masses. I’m sure they’ll enjoy it, at least I’d like to think that they will. We’ll see!

1101789461443802301013

Thoughts?

