No more Kings for this Princess

 What is the one piece of advice your parents gave you that still sticks with you today.

It’s kind of funny that I do this one today…

Any time my dad and I would fight (bc I was the oh so rebellious one) he’d tell me that no matter what “friends will come and go, but your family will always be here. You can’t get rid of them.”

Ironically…. He walked out of my life a few months back and I haven’t really heard from him since.

Granted, I called him a coward and told him not to talk to me ever again (he’s my dad… shouldn’t he at least TRY a little to make me change my mind? Fight, even a bit?). Out of all the times I’ve asked or told him to do something (He never once listened of followed through) he picked a hell of a time to actually do it.

So how much truth can there be in something he said time and time again? And how could he say that if he didn’t believe it? That’s what I’d like to know. Thankfully I have family in my life that not only loves me, but shows me that they love me, and I them. He was right about them, at least, because I know that I can count on them when I really need them. We may not talk frequently or see each other often anymore, but when we all get together it’s like no time has passed. That’s true family love.

Separately, he was wrong about the friends part, some of the very friends that he hated on so much have been there for me more than he’s ever been.

Thoughts?

