Happy Birthday vs The Boston Cream

I have the house to myself for a few days and for some reason that always puts me in the mood to bake, probably because it gives me something to do with myself. I lucked out because we were celebrating a coworker’s birthday so I had a reason to bake, and people to eat it all so that I wouldn’t! This particular coworker and I always seem to fight over the Boston Cream donut whenever someone brings in a dozen (I’m usually the one that wins) so I decided to make some Boston Cream CUPCAKES. I thought I had a recipe saved on Pinterest but I was proven wrong, so I did a bit of research and settled on this recipe.

I LOVE to bake (and cook in general) but I’m always a bit self-conscious about it, especially when I’m doing it for someone else, for a special occasion. I usually try something when I’m done making it and if I don’t like it, well then it doesn’t go to its destination. ha Even if I’ve spent hours (and sometimes it does take me hours) I’ll start all over. I wouldn’t want to serve something that doesn’t taste good. Would you?

image

All things needed for tasty treats.

I started with the filling. I’m not really a pudding person, especially vanilla pudding, but this stuff was amazing! Not to mention the fact that it was pretty simple to make and quick.  Once I put the filling in the fridge to thicken I moved on to the ganache. I think if anything these two things are good to know for future reference. The filling is thick enough that I can probably use it in a layered cake and you can never go wrong with chocolate ganache. In my experience it’s easier to make than icing since you have to be careful not to over mix icing (specifically butter cream). 

 I actually scooped out more than just the cone that was recommended so that I could use more filling, because really that’s the best part of the donut! The recipe only made a dozen cupcakes and I didn’t have enough of everything in order to make a second batch so I mixed a box of chocolate cake mix. This did not end well (and like I said if it’s not good it doesn’t go out). When the instructions tell you to only fill the cupcake liner 3/4 you should fill it 3/4, otherwise you end up with these massive soppy things. I tried to figure out a way to salvage the cupcakes but it just became a big mess. Also, I tried to omit the oil thinking I’d make them “healthier” so I used light sour cream (at the suggestion of the internet) but the batter was watery so I let them cook longer, my oven is always about 5 minutes off anyway. I mixed up a box of vanilla cake mix and ended up with two dozen extra cup cakes topped with the chocolate ganache. All in all the cupcakes came out really good, I thought the Boston Cream cupcakes were a little dense but that may just be because I mixed it too much. I’ll have to try again and see how they turn out. 

The celebration was a success, unfortunately my coworker is the only male in a 12 person team so his cubicle was decorated with a pink princess theme. He took it all like a champ, I mean he got some cupcakes out of the deal so who wouldn’t!

image

The final product; Boston Cream cupcakes

I like how this recipe turned out and hopefully I’ll find a reason to make them again some time.  I mean, I still have people asking me to make Irish Car Bomb cupcakes so, I’m sure these will happen again.  From what I can tell they were really good, unless of course everyone was lying to me. (^_^)

1101789461443802301013

Thoughts?

