Everyone’s gotta believe in something, right?!

Prompt: What are your spiritual beliefs and how do they impact your relationships/relationship status?

I was raised Catholic, from K through 2nd I went to Holy Family in Cahokia IL. And then when we moved up north I took Catechism classes at the church we attended. I even went to a Catholic college, I had to take religious courses in order to graduate, but I wouldn’t consider myself to be a religious person. I get why people feel the need to believe in religion, but I think there are better ways to go about it. I learned a lot in those classes and have sometimes put that knowledge to good use. I once got into a heated discussion with someone on whether or not God loves ALL people. She kept quoting the Bible, but it didn’t really seem like she understood the ‘meaning’. I think people quote the Bible out of context and don’t always fully understand what they’re reading. And yet… they’ll quote away as long as they feel that it helps bring their point across. It was interesting going through the Gospels and breaking them down with my professor (who was a priest), it gave me a better understanding of what was written in the Bible. Don’t get me wrong, I live my life based on the values that I’ve been taught throughout my religious upbringing and what I’ve learned in school. When it comes down to it, they’re good values. However, I feel that most religions (and the people who practice) are hypocritical. They preach one thing but act in another, obviously this does not apply to all people who follow religion, but there are quite a few.

In regards to my relationships; I’ve never actually dated someone who was religious, or spiritual for that matter. It’s not something I’ve actively looked for in a partner, it just didn’t happen. Although, I don’t think that I would be able to date someone who’s very religious, unless he was practical about it. I don’t have a problem with people who practice their chosen religion unless they’re pushing and all in my face about it. It’s a turn off.

LOL Actually, while having a discussion on the matter someone once called me Pagan. I think if anything I’d be more Agnostic. I believe in something, I’m just not entirely sure what it is that I believe in.

1101789461443802301013

Thoughts?

