I’m fucking fabulous!

I have a couple of things to get off of my chest today, but I’ll start by saying… I’m going to TRY and follow this blog challenge thing. I failed miserably for September, hopefully October will go better and by better I mean hopefully I’ll write more than one blog. (^_~)

Now… I had a chat with a co-worker today that kind of had me laughing so hard I actually cried. The topic itself wasn’t fun, but more what I said. She asked me how datapalooza was going. I said that it was pretty much at a stand still because I actually haven’t been on a date in a while. I think since I declared I’d be taking control of my dating life I’ve been on maybe 3 dates?! I’ve met a few guys but nothing’s ever really come of these encounters. So here’s the rundown I gave her:

OKC– We were talking pretty consistently, probably the longest out of all the gents I’ve met. That is until I said “hey I’m going to be busy for the next few weekends let’s get together during the week” and then nothing. I hear from him sporadically but it’s more of a “check” in kind of chat. So I think this has just become a casual acquaintance because it seems the romantic interest is gone.
Tinder– The one I had the highest hopes for, well he must have gotten hit by a car or something because who wouldn’t want a second date with me in fucking fabulous! She asked why I went to that extreme but I mean really, that whole situation was weird and there are still so many unanswered questions. None of which I will get answers for, and I refuse to call into that radio station to get them. I’d rather just think that something awful has happened that’s rendered him incapable of ever using a phone again.
The young one– There was contact once more after our first date but again, nothing after that. He was a nice guy though and we really didn’t talk prior to our date, unlike the rest. It seems like a popular thing to use texting as a way to get to know someone vs actual face to face interactions. While I’m fond of this (because it puts less pressure on me) I think this will have to change. I think I’ll have to go back to the ‘old fashioned’ way of doing things and if a guy doesn’t bring up a date within the first week (POSSIBLY two) of getting my number well then it’s probably not going to happen.
The Cub– After not having seen each other in a month or so he found me. He was under the impression that I had his number and just wasn’t interested. We’ve hung out a couple of times but due to time schedules and work loads this will remain a casual relationship. Nice guy though, if I’m still single in a year and a half maybe I’ll hit him up. Lol He’ll be done with law school by then and have a little bit more free time. And by that I mean he’ll only be working a lot as opposed to working a lot and studying even more.
The Puma– After standing me up and never contacting me again he recently text me asking me when we were going to meet. I told him he had to have been joking considering he stood me up.

And there you have it… in the 3 months that I’ve been “actively” looking, this is what I have to say about it.

After this recap we started talking about other things, mainly how I’m thirty years old and the dating pool is full of all kinds of different ‘obstacles’. At this age there are receding hair lines, beer bellies, men recovering from possibly debilitating occurrences and so much more that we stopped talking after the idea of a stroke came up. (-_-)  So while I can be picky and specific, I also have to take into consideration that maybe what I want and what I need aren’t the same thing, and I should be more open minded about my prospects. eek!

Which brings me to the blog challenge. I’ve been blogging since I was 16 years old, blogging-online journals, it’s all the same really. In the past it was just whatever came to mind, and while this particular blog is similar I’m trying to find my niche. Which lately appears to be mostly rambling about my dating life, which I hear is a popular topic. Hopefully it’s interesting enough to keep the two readers I have coming back! I also started blogging because I wanted a place to express myself, I’ve always felt better when I’m writing than when I’m not. I’ve used it as a form of therapy, which is why I’m pretty open about things going on in my life. Sometimes I do have writer’s remorse, but I try not to delete anything. Which can sometimes get me into sticky situations but I’m a big girl so I can figure it out along the way….

Secret Obsession

Thoughts?

