What’s for dinner?

Growing up I ate a lot of really good food, both my dad and my grandmother cooked. However, anytime I asked how anything was made they wouldn’t tell me. It was always some big secret that they wouldn’t let me in on, so any food that I know how to make I had to teach myself, or I learned from my mom’s side.
There are really only a few things that both my dad and grandmother made that I’d consider “favorites”, some of which I still have yet to figure out. But recently I’ve had this huge craving for rajas con papas (roasted peppers and potatoes). I think there’s a little more to it than how my mom made it this time, at least a few changes that I’d make, but it still came out great.

image

So here we have it…
– 3 poblano peppers-roasted over an open flame and then peeled
– Thick cut pork chops (or pork loin) cut into cubes
– Sliced onion
– A couple of potatoes (cubed)
– Garlic, salt, pepper and oil.

I think when I make it, I’ll cook the pork in beer, kind of like carnitas, to give it another layer of flavor. Add a dollop of Mexican crema and bam, you have a delicious meal.
And the plus side, because there’s always a plus side to food… we don’t know how to cook for just two people so lunch for the week is done!

Thoughts?

