Reading between the lines

Have you ever had a conversation with someone and interpreted what they said in a way that maybe it wasn’t supposed to be interpreted? I know that I’m not the only one who does this… and it’s not even something I do on purpose, I swear!

I’m sure this will come up in this dating adventure I’m on, seeing as how it requires having actual conversations with people, so we’ll just call this “reading between the lines”.

I went on a date last Friday, with Mr. Tinder actually.

Apparently the business trip that he mentioned previously was extended and since he hadn’t contacted me in a week he figured I’d moved on. But of course, because it’s me, I pined away waiting for him to call, text, do something! And when he didn’t, after a night out of cocktails… well, let’s just say that I wasn’t the nicest person.

Bright and early I received a barrage of messages… apologizing. Fast forward to Friday, we meet up at this bar in Old Town. Honestly, this wasn’t like the first time, yea I was nervous but something about him made it really easy. I thought it went rather well over all, we talked- like actually talked- about a lot of things. And during that conversation the topic of kids came up. For as long as I can remember I’ve always told myself that I didn’t want to have kids, not naturally anyhow, if anything I would adopt. Hopefully by that time I would have tapped into that well of “motherly” instinct that a woman’s supposed to have and raise a real human being.

He obviously wanted kids, of course because anything good comes with conditions, and he says this;

I’ll cross my fingers that you’ll change your mind

Which of course I took to mean;

Things are going really well and I see us together in the long run, we can talk about this again later.

Thinking back, even I have to ask myself… w. t. f…. ha! Let’s see if there’s a second date first, before you go picking potential baby names.

4 thoughts on “Reading between the lines

  1. I stopped using tinder a few weeks ago… too many douches for my liking lol. My coworker showed me cliqie.com and I’m a big fan of that over the others in terms of actually meeting people vs. just entertainment. It has a different approach that feels less sketchy cause you and your friends essentially act as “wingmen”. I like that it helps you find things to do too. Skout’s okay too, but still has it’s fair share of creepers

    • Personally, I think they’re all the same (the dating sites/apps), but what can you do! I may entrust a friend to handle my tinder for a while, don’t think I have the heart to really deal with it myself! Maybe look into a dating PA.

      • Haha, a dating PA… that’s getting pretty serious! 🙂 I dunno, I think the experience is less intimidating on cliqie. Probably gonna stick to that for now at least. Good luck!

  2. Pingback: I Love You, For Tonight. | She's shaken, not stirred

Thoughts?

