Go obvious to avoid oblivious.

I have a problem, sometimes (okay most of the time) I’m pretty oblivious to what’s going on when interacting with members of the opposite sex. I’m pretty sure that I’ve missed out on a ton of amazing (or horrible) opportunities because I don’t really know how to read people and honestly, I’m usually just thinking “omg, this guy is soooo nice”.

Example, I was having a chat with someone last night and then it got… interesting. I had to think about what was being said and when I couldn’t really figure it out, I just asked. Because, well… I’m trying to get better at reading people and being INVOLVED in the conversation.

2013-08-15_2125

Basically, he was, at least it seemed like that… ha!

I’m not good at picking up on the social cues when interacting with members of the opposite sex, this has been pointed out to me on numerous occasions.

A couple of years ago I was in California visiting my brother, we were prepping for my niece’s birthday. I decided that I wanted to make the cake (awesome rainbow cake btw) so we had to go to the craft store for supplies. Walked in and got the usual greeting from the guy at the cash register, I didn’t think anything of it really, and while checking out we had a bit of a chat. He asked the usual questions; if I was from the area (no, just visiting), asked if I’d gone out much (no, I don’t know anyone really), then lingered when dealing with my credit card and tried to get me to sign up for their rewards program.  Which actually, I did give him my email address because I’ve been getting emails from them ever since. Transaction ended and we said goodbye, the guy was cute but I’m pretty sure he was like a teenager! The minute we walked out of the store my SIL just let out a breath and said that he was totally flirting with me and asked why I didn’t just give him my number. I was passing up a really cute guy who could take me out and show me around and maybe… you know… “um, because he wasn’t flirting with me, he was just being nice and doing his job!”

“No no, he was hitting on you, he didn’t stop looking at you and smiling” (that’s his job… he’s supposed to be nice) “ookkayyy… but you should go back in there and ask him out!” (What? No. He’s probably in high school or something, weird!)

And that was the end of that… She still brings it up from time to time when she thinks a guy’s hitting on me. Which apparently to her happens a lot, not sure what she considers being “hit on” but maybe I just missed it.

I’ve also been told on a few occasions that certain guys at the bar/club/party/dinner/whatever tried hitting on me and I blew them off. Oops! Seriously, if I did blow someone off in that regard it wasn’t on purpose. I generally think people are just nice, which apparently isn’t the case because people aren’t really that nice.  Are people that nice or am I just being naive about that as well?

So to all of the guys out there… If you’re into me, you should probably just come out and say it. Because if you don’t I might never know… until it’s too late.

Thoughts?

