So much Spinach, So much Artichoke

 

The other day I ended up making mini quiches for an office brunch, I had planned on making three different kinds, but after making two I realized that three would be too many. So I was left with frozen spinach, mozzarella cheese and a can of artichoke hearts. I did a bit of searching and found this recipe for Spinach & Artichoke Stuffed Chicken and thought, hey I could totally do that! And that’s exactly what I did, I didn’t follow the recipe as I used all of the things that I already had in the cupboard. The end result wasn’t too bad, I think it needed some kind of sauce as it was a little dry, even with all of the moisture from the spinach and artichokes.

 

Camera 360

 

 

 

I mixed one box of frozen spinach, 1 reg sized can of artichoke hearts and 1 bag of shredded mozzarella cheese. Added salt, pepper, chicken bullion and some powdered garlic. Pounded out 1 chicken breast to about 1/8 of an inch and heaped the mixture in the center, folded the meat over and added it to a pan. Baked at 350 for about 30 minutes and then ate with a side of whole wheat pasta with broccoli bits (seasoned with olive oil and garlic). Like I said, it wasn’t too bad, although a bit dry. I think next time I’ll make some kind of Béchamel sauce or Alfredo sauce.

 

Because I was only making dinner for two people there was still quite a bit of the filling left over, so the next morning a regular sized quiche was attempted. I used a simple dough recipe, which is what I normally use for the mini quiche. Added 4 eggs and a bit of milk to the mix and then baked at 350 for about 55 minutes. Once it was done, I let it sit out for a few minutes to give the insides time to set.

 

Camera 360

 

 I think it came out rather nicely. I still have to figure out how to get the crust to not end up soggy, I figured this time I’d try to pre-bake the crust and that helped. But in the end the center was still a bit soggy from all of the moisture in the filling. It could have used a bit more salt, but then again I think everything could use a bit more salt.

 

All in all, I think this was a good food weekend.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “So much Spinach, So much Artichoke

  1. Pingback: Chicken Breasts with Artichoke-Olive Sauce and Moroccan Carrots | Wining Wife

  2. Pingback: Artichoke and Spinach Dip | Artichoke and Spinach Dip Recipe

Thoughts?

