Weaving a web of love

New hobby… I figured it’d be a good idea to do something to keep me busy, that and my sister-in-law has asked me to make two blankets for my nieces. I’ve only made two blankets before, one for an ex-boyfriend’s nephew and one for my own niece. It was a simple stitch though because before the last month all I knew how to do was a double crochet stitch.

My grandma gave me my first needle, she found me poking around her things and said she’d show me one day. I remember her having this little wicker ottoman full of needles, threads and buttons, I loved looking through that thing, even as I got older. She’d collected a lot of buttons over the years. I don’t recall her actually showing me though, I’m pretty sure it was my Tía Viva who showed me that first stitch. Either way, I think doing this now helps keep my grandma with me…

And it’s nice to know that there’s someone out there who has something that I’ve made and cherishes it.

Thoughts?

