What’s for Dinner?

So my brother brought home a bunch of random groceries yesterday, and I got the idea to make some pasta because in those groceries were 3 containers of fresh tomatoes. After work today I stopped in my local market and bought some stuff for the weekend.

While there I vaguely recalled a recipe that I’d seen Giada De Laurentiis make once. Needless to say, I didn’t remember it correctly and instead just went with the flow.

Here’s what I did:

brown 1/4 lb ground chuck and 1/3 of a Jimmy Deans sausage roll (I know, weird… but it did add a nice flavor). Season with salt and pepper. Add garlic and onion, cook until translucent. While this is happening, boil water and cook pasta (I used a whole wheat rotini), this should be done by the time the “sauce” is done as well!! Once the Onions are translucent, I added two yellow squash probably too early because they ended up cooking down more than I wanted them to. But as you can see some of them still held their shape! Then I added 1 box of grape tomatoes (cut in half or in 4 depending on the size) and added that to the mess, season and just let it cook down. Once the pasta was cooked I added that to the meat mixture, spooning directly from the water. I laddled in about 2-3 spoon fulls of pasta water and about 4 heaping tablespoons of low fat ricotta. mix it all up and bam!

It was good. There’s a crap ton left because I made way too much meat mixture and had to balance it out with the pasta. Oh well, now I have lunch for next week!

Thoughts?

