What’s for Dinner?

I’m not a religious person, so I don’t participate in things such as Lent, however my mom does… and the good thing about that is that we tend to eat a lot more seafood around this time of year. 🙂 Last night being Friday= no meat (!!), so I figured it’d be a good idea to do something quick for dinner. Ended up making Shrimp Scampi with Linguine.

The measurements are aproximated, as I don’t really measure things out (sorry!!).

Olive Oil (quite a bit, explained below.)
Salt
1/2 pound linguine
3 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 med-small head of Garlic
1 small-med onion sliced long ways
1 pound shrimp Med-Large, (35-40 ct) peeled and deveined if you’d like (we don’t)
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/2 teaspoon hot red pepper flakes
1 cup chicken stock (can also use white wine)
liquid from cooked noodles (eyeball it)
Garlic Powder
Onion Powder
Thyme

Just cook your pasta with lots of salt/water per the box instructions. For the shrimp I did as follows:
Heat large pan (I used a wok) with two turns of EVOO, add onions and saute until they’re almost translucent. Add garlic then season with salt and pepper. Once everything is translucent I added the chicken broth and seasoned it with the other ingredients, let it simmer for a bit. Add the shrimp as soon as the pasta is al dente and let that cook. When you turn the shrimp over you should be able to add the pasta to your pan (don’t drain it all the way as the liquid adds to the sauce in the end) and let it all finish together.
Other times I’ve added lemon to this dish, but it’s the end of the week and we have hungry beasts in the house so I had to make due with what we had!
Served this along with a salad and some homemade croutons. Pretty good deal if you ask me.
I think next time I’ll add something to give it a bit more color, maybe some bell peppers, capers, or some tomatoes… we’ll see.
Thoughts?

