Bad attitudes, sleep, family and food!

I hope you all had a good Christmas!! Mine was decent, I slept mostly and was able to catch up on lost sleep thanks to working retail! 

I ended up working on Christmas Eve, and while hours = money, I wouldn’t recommend anyone work that day! People aren’t… the nicest and most of the people I encountered that day definitely didn’t have that “Christmas cheer”. Towards the end of the evening I had a coworker snap at me because his “Christmas was ruined” he felt that he was doing all of the work (there were 4 of us in the department which is 3 more than usual on any given night- plus extra help from other departments and fitting room people). I’m not a very confrontational person, I’ve generally lived by a “If you don’t have something nice to say, don’t say anything at all” motto and I’ve learned over time to pick my battles wisely. We were all frustrated that we had to be there on Christmas Eve, but what could we really do but trudge on and get it over with. This time however, I’d had enough… I’d just had a woman call me incompetent because we didn’t carry a specific item (which we’ve never carried before) and I’d reached my limit of bad attitudes, so I didn’t take what he’d said. As calmly and quietly as I could (which wasn’t very easy) I told him that he was seriously F*$&ing stupid if he felt that out of the 5 or so of us in the department he was the ONLY person doing any work. And that his wasn’t the only holiday that was ruined because we were all in the same boat, trying our hardest to get things cleaned up and done so that we could all go home. He just stared at me, actually there were a couple of people looking. I apologized to those around me and told him to get back to work and then I ran off to do my own work. Blah.. it was a fun Christmas Eve.

Christmas morning my brother decided to wake us all up at 8:30am, you’d think he was a child or something!! LOL at some point in the night he put together a little Christmas tree (pictured above) and arranged all of the gifts around it (not pictured above as this was taken after we’d all opened them). There were more gifts than I’d expected, I guess I didn’t really think there’d be much of a Christmas this year. But we made it work, and we each received a couple of nice things. I think it’s always nicer when you get more than what you expected, not that I ever expect anything for the holidays but there’s always a hope for something nice, right? 

Christmas dinner consisted of the following:

A Beef Tenderloin Roast (marinaded in EVOO, salt, pepper and thyme)
A Mushroom Medley (Portobello and Shiitake mushrooms in a brown butter sauce)
Grilled Asparagus with a wasabi(ranch) dressing (the ranch was my brother’s idea, I was hesitant at first but it actually came out pretty good).

Served with some homemade bread, what more could you ask for:

 

I dare say, this has been one of the best meals we’ve recreated yet! I can’t take all of the credit for this as my lovely brother and I got the initial idea off of the Stir Crazy menu. LOL Minor changes were made, but all in all it came out pretty fantastic. It’s definitely a simple meal to make and I’ve added a beef cut to my list of amazingness (I’ve not yet mastered many beef dishes and can’t cook a steak to save my life) but this… this I can do!

Thoughts?

