I took the late shift at work today which meant I had some extra time this morning. Last night I did a bit of research online on lactose substitutes for the quiche recipe I have, in the end I thought it would be pretty easy. Until I was standing in front of the butter section at my local Jewel Osco! Considering the selection of “spread” that they have you’d think they’d have more vegan options! After analyzing package after package I finally settled on “I can’t believe it’s not butter”, which was the only product that didn’t read “contains milk/by product” in small print. I strolled down the organic food isle, which is something I never do, to pick up some rice milk before going home.

Anyway, this morning I made the dough, it ended up having a different texture with the ICINB, but essentially it was the same. Diced up a few stalks of asparagus and sautéed them with half a red onion. Once that was done I beat 4 eggs, added goat cheese and some of the rice milk. Formed the little suckers and popped them in the oven for 25 minutes.

They came out pretty good, but I think I will have to try making the bigger version of this quiche! The mini quiche doesn’t do this combination justice, at least I don’t think so, everyone at work enjoyed them.

Thoughts?

